Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

What is Maintenance of Certification?

MOC is the board certification process for assessment of continuing competencies of physicians. The ABPM MOC program continues to evolve to meet American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) requirements.

The ABPM MOC program consists of four components:

Part 1: Professional Standing
Part 2: Lifelong Learning and Self-assessment (LLSA) (Available at UHMS live and online educational activities)
Part 3: Assessment of Cognitive Expertise
Part 4: Assessment of Practice Performance (NEW for UHM starting 2018!)

American Board of Preventive Medicine

What is MOC?
MOC Requirements by year of certification for UHM Diplomates:

Click here for the Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine ABPM Maintenance of Certification Part IV
docxPatient Care Practice Improvement (PCPI Activity)

Note: This packet is for diplomates undergoing the Board Certification process through American Board of Preventive Medicine to satisfy Maintenance of Certification Part 4 requirement.

Diplomates must complete two practice assessment and improvement activities during each ten-year certification cycle. One assessment is to be completed in the first five years of the cycle and a second in the last five years. For those diplomates maintaining certification with another ABMS specialty board or a Canadian specialty board, Part 4 requirements may be satisfied by completing the MOC requirements of that specialty board. Further information can be found on the ABPM website here:

Copyright © Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society | All rights reserved