UHMS 2020 Annual Award Recipients

If you can't see this e-mail, view it online
UHMS Banner Aug 2014

2020 Annual Award Recipients



The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society presents yearly awards to select individuals recognized for their significant contributions to the specialty of undersea and hyperbaric medicine.

Congratulations to this year's recipients!



The Albert R. Behnke Award
This is the premier award of the UHMS. This award is presented at the annual meeting to an individual in recognition of outstanding scientific contributions to advances in the undersea or hyperbaric biomedical field. 


sheffield p

Paul Sheffield, PhD, CHT-Admin, CAsP, FAsMA, FUHM




Excellence in Commercial Diving Award
This award is presented at the annual meeting to a UHMS member for outstanding contributions to the commercial diving industry in the area of increased productivity or performance of the working diver. Specific recognition is given to practical application of biomedical knowledge to the solution of problems encountered in diving operations.


Sanders PhotoRobert Sanders, MD


Excellence in Diving Medicine Award

This award is presented at the annual meeting to an individual UHMS member for an outstanding contribution to teaching, education, science and/or safety in the field of Diving Medicine and related fields.


PWPeter Wilmhurst, MB ChB, BSc, FRCP, FFSEM, FISM



The Young Scientist/Medical Doctor Award
This award is presented at the annual meeting to an individual UHMS member. It is to recognize the work of a young medical doctor or scientist whose performance is consistently outstanding. The recipient can be either a clinician or researcher practicing in hyperbaric and/or diving medicine and must not be older than 40 years of age.



Virginie Papadopoulou, PhD




The Paul C. Baker Award for Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Safety Excellence Award
This award is for an Associate Member, in good standing, for outstanding contributions to the advancement of safety in hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Specific attention is given to those who have implemented outstanding hyperbaric safety programs, authored hyperbaric safety publications, developed or presented on hyperbaric safety related research. The award may be made for a single contribution of great importance or for many contributions over the years.


brown image

Greg Brown, CHT, BS, MBS








  Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society 
631 Highway 1, Suite 307
North Palm Beach, FL 33408
Phone: 919-490-5140/877-533-8467; Fax: 919-490-5149
Email: uhms@uhms.org; website: www.uhms.org