The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society (UHMS) is an international non-profit organization serving members from more than 50 countries. The UHMS is the primary source of scientific information for diving and hyperbaric medicine physiology worldwide.

We Have Over 2400
Members Worldwide

Summary: 2019 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule and Quality Payment Program Final Rule

On Nov. 1, 2018, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) released the 2019 Physician Fee Schedule (PFS) and Quality Payment Program (QPP) final rule, which will be published in the Federal Register on Nov. 23, 2018. This is the first year CMS combined the Medicare PFS and QPP rules. CMS published several fact sheets on the final rule including a fact sheet on the QPP changes and a fact sheet on the PFS changes for 2019.

One week later, CMS released a snapshot of physician performance during the first year of the QPP, 2017. These data indicate that 93% of clinicians who were MIPS-eligible in 2017 will get a positive MIPS incentive payment in 2019.

AMA is continuing to review the rule and will work with its colleagues in the Federation to further analyze these policies in the coming weeks. Below is a summary of the key policies included in the final regulation and the QPP performance results.

Read the full summary here:


ABEM Subspecialists No Longer Required to Maintain EM Certification

ABEM Subspecialists No Longer Required to Maintain EM Certification

Physicians certified in EM by ABEM who also hold an ABEM-issued subspecialty certificate are no longer required to maintain their Primary Emergency Medicine (EM) certification as long as they are participating in ABEM-accepted MOC programs.

Acceptable MOC Programs are:

  • An ABEM subspecialty specific MOC program
  • An MOC program of another ABMS Member Board (e.g. ABPM for UHM certificate holders)

Physicians with questions are encouraged to contact ABEM at 517-332-4800, ext. 387 or subspecialties@abem.org

  • 1
  • 2